Featured Sports

Best Players Who Made An Impact In Basketball History

Basketball, as all other sports out there, has seen its fair share of players who redefined the sport and made a real impact in its history. If you are a basketball fan yourself, you certainly want to find out which are the players who made an impact in basketball history. Therefore, continue to read if you want to find out.

Earvin “Magic” Johnson Jr.

Earvin “Magic” Johnson Jr. is a retired professional basketball player who was born on August 14, 1959. He played point guard for the Los Angeles Lakers of the NBA. He was selected first overall in the 1979 NBA draft by the Lakers after he had already won championships in high school and college. In his rookie season, he won the championship and an NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award. During the 1980’s, “Magic” won 4 more championships with the Los Angeles Lakers. Unfortunately, he retired in 1991 after he announced that he had HIV. But this didn’t end this career as he made a return playing basketball in the 1992 All-Star Game. He returned to play another 32 games for the Los Angeles Lakers in 1996, after which he retired for good. During his career, “Magic” won 3 NBA MVP awards, 12 All-Star games, 10 All-NBA First and Second Team nominations, and 9 NBA Finals appearances. He was a member of the “Dream Team” that won the Olympic gold medal in 1992. Also, he was honored as one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History in 1996, and he entered the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2002.

Wilton Norman “Wilt” Chamberlain

Wilton Norman “Wilt” Chamberlain was a professional NBA basketball player who was born on August 21, 1936, and who died October 12, 1999. During his career, he played for the Philadelphia/San Francisco Warriors, for the Los Angeles Lakers, for the Harlem Globetrotters, and for the Philadelphia 76ers. Wilton Norman Chamberlain holds numerous official NBA all-time records, setting records in durability, rebounding, and scoring categories. Among other important accomplishments, he is the only player in NBA history to score 100 points in a single NBA game and to average more than 40 and 50 points in a season. He won 9 field goal percentage titles, 7 scoring titles, and 11 rebounding titles. Also, during his successful career, Chamberlain won 2 NBA titles, 4 MPV awards, an NBA Finals MVP award, the Rookie of the Year award, and he was selected in 10 All-NBA First and Second teams, and 13 All-Star Games. He was inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1978, and he was chosen as one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History in 1996.

Michael Jeffrey Jordan

There isn’t a soul alive who doesn’t know who Michael Jeffrey Jordan is. The retired professional basketball player and active businessman was born on February 17, 1963. Many see Michael Jordan as the greatest basketball player of all time. He is the most effectively marketed athlete of his generation, and he is responsible for the increased popularity of basketball around the world in the 1980’s and 1990’s. He joined the NBA Chicago Bulls in 1984 after his standout career in university, where he led the Tar Heels to a National Championship in 1982. His prolific scoring made him quickly emerge as a league star. Also, his leaping ability earned him the nickname “Air Jordan”. In addition, he gained a reputation for being a great defensive player as well. He won his first NBA championship with the Bulls in 1991, following the achievement with titles in 1992 and 1993. Between the 1993-1994 season, he took a break from playing basketball to pursue a career in baseball, but he returned in 1995 to play basketball for the Bulls. When he rejoined, he led the team to 3 additional championships in 1996, 1997, and 1998. He then retired for the second time in 1999, but he returned for 2 more seasons in 2001 as a player for the Washington Wizards. Michael Jordan’s individual accomplishments include 10 All-NBA First Team designations, 14 NBA All-Star Game appearances, 5 MPV awards, 9 All-Defensive First Team honors, 10 scoring titles, 6 NBA Finals MVP awards, 3 steals titles, 3 All-Star Game MPV awards, and the 1988 NBA Defensive Player of the Year award.